So Blessed & Thankful

As I reflect back on this past week of Thanksgiving I’m also reflecting on this year that has gone by way too fast.  My mom always told me growing up “the older you get the faster time goes” and that has been so true but this year seems ridiculously fast.  I hope your Thanksgiving was as good as mine.  I try each year not to let little things bother me that really don’t matter, such as the egg shells not peeling well and ruining my perfect eggs for Deviled Eggs (it all gets mashed up anyways in your mouth).  Or the kids bickering because they can’t stop teasing each other (at least they have each other to entertain themselves).  Honestly, I think if we prepare in our hearts and mind that we are going to JUST BE thankful…and not worry about every detail then I think we can almost always have a good Thanksgiving.

While I was reflecting it wasn’t just because I had these things but more in realizing I don’t deserve most of them and yet I am blessed to have them:

I am so thankful for my husband who loves me unconditionally.  He is my modern-day MacGyver, the things that man can fix and contraptions he can create – very handy, especially for this newbie homesteader.  He is such a good man and provides for our family…he deserves more than my mundane.  Too often I don’t put him first in our relationship and I need to be better at that.  I need to show him more how deeply I love him and appreciate him and I hope to have more decades of life with this man.

I am so thankful for my kids.  I wasn’t sure if I would be able to have kids because it took us awhile to get pregnant but when I did I was thankful for every day of morning sickness and every ache and lack of comfort in the last trimester and even the pain of labor.  Now that my kids are older, I’m thankful that I’m able to share life with them and teach them about life.  I love the sweetness of them both.  The random hugs and I love yous is priceless.  I try to enjoy each day that I have with them because we are not guaranteed of tomorrow and time goes by too fast.  And I know that some of you are missing children that have passed away and I’m sorry for the sadness that comes into your days particularly when the rest of the country is celebrating holidays with their families.

I’m so thankful for my girlfriends.  These friends will surround me and support me like no one else.  They know me like no one else does, they hold me up and encourage me like no others do and they get my crankiness when life feels like it’s falling down on top of me and I can’t breathe.  They go before the throne of God on my behalf and for my husband’s and kids’ behalf, we all need friends who will pray for us.  I have some amazing friends who have so many great qualities that they make me want to be a better me and a better friend.  They are so selfless and they are beautiful on the inside and out.

I’m so thankful for the home we make a life in.  The place is not perfect and there’s so much work we need to do on it and in it and the money is so tight to do any of it and it just overwhelms me and nothing seems to get done.  However, it shelters us from the elements outside and keeps us warm from the cold.  It also protects us from intruders and I try hard to make it a safe place for everyone to come home to, not just physically but mentally and emotionally – the world is a harsh place and I want my family to know they always have a safe place to come home to.

I’m also thankful for the jobs that my husband and I have.  We both work with the public, in different ways, and usually most people are reasonable and kind but everyone once in a while we come across someone who makes us think “what in the world just happened?”  But my husband’s job provides us a life where we are able to stay in our home…money to pay for our house, groceries, heat, electricity and more.  My job help’s our family with the same but also gives me a chance to make someone’s day better.  For me personally I get to work for a boss who has integrity and lives out what he expects from his employees and is understanding when it comes to family.  I’ve seen firsthand the kindness and generosity that he gives to patients with and without their knowledge and to his employees.  It makes me proud and thankful to work for a boss and a company where it isn’t all about the money.

I am truly thankful for the United States of America.  This is a great nation despite the chaos and lack of trust in it right now.  Most people are good, respectful and kind to others.  Those who aren’t I think have just lost their way and need a change of heart.  Of all the places in the world, each one of us could’ve been born in another country. We could’ve been born in a country where there are no freedoms.  What country do more people want to come into than ours?  People are in search of a better life.  A life where they can be free…free to not live in fear for their lives, free to be treated as an equal, free to worship, free to voice what they believe is right or wrong.   I’m thankful for our laws and for those that uphold them, I don’t agree with all of them but most of them are there to keep us safe and protect our freedoms.  I’m thankful I was born in this country.

I’m so thankful for a God who loved the undeserving me so much that he sent his Son, Jesus, to die a horrific death so that I can go to heaven when I die.  I’m undeserving because I’m not perfect and I never will be in this life and God knew this about me and knew I would fall from time to time.  Jesus death paid my price of imperfection – all of it.  The past, the present, the future of wrong I will do it’s all paid for, covered and forgotten because Jesus to took my deserving punishment.  Because I accepted this gift, I’m not afraid to die…I know (I John 5:12-13) that I will spend eternity in a place where there is no more death or mourning or crying or pain.  I am thankful I wasn’t forced or coerced into hurting others to obtain this gift.  I am thankful I had the freewill to choose this gift.

thankfullyhappy

I’m thankful for the little things too, like chocolate.  How a little piece of that smooth, creamy chocolate makes me happy is just amazing.

The sun!  I’m so thankful for the sun and its warmth.  Could you imagine a world without the sun?  Talk about a dark place.

My Chloe!  I can’t forget my almost 6-year-old dog.  I’m so thankful for her and always being happy to see me…even when I was only gone for 30 seconds!  She has brought joy into our family in ways that’s just hard to explain.

Also I’m thankful that Thanksgiving was at my brother-in-law’s house this year, I didn’t have to get my house in order (also known as clean) to welcome guests because I just didn’t have the time.

I’m thankful for extended families in the craziness of our lives that we can come together and to give each other grace and love.

I’m thankful for another day, that I can be thankful for this wonderful life I have been given.

I AM so blessed.

From My Little Piece of Homestead,

JodieLMW

Leave a Reply

