Goals for the New Year

I’m sorry it’s been awhile since I’ve been on here.  Life.  It’s good but crazy busy, I know you all experience it too.  I don’t know about you but I do NOT do New Year’s Resolutions.  Resolutions sounds so definite.  What if I can’t definitely do it?  Then I’m down on myself because I didn’t do it.  I do goals.  I like goals better because I’m trying towards something and if I fail at least I tried…and something is better than nothing. Right? What’s the difference between a resolution and a goal?  Is there a difference?  Are they the same?

I looked up the definition of resolution: a firm decision to do or not do something.  See, it sounds definite.  Then I looked up the definition of a goal: the object of a person’s ambition or effort; an aim or desired result.  Ambition, I like that!  I think they are different and that’s why I choose goals over resolutions.  It’s just so much nicer.

advice-and-encouragementNot that anyone really cares about my goals versus my resolutions but I did want to share with you about my goals.  When you write them down, say them out loud or share them on your blog…it’s as if your being more accountable to someone for your goals.  So here they are:

  1. Spend our money more wisely. It seems too often that just before payroll comes around we seem to have already spent that money. That is not wise and it needed to stop.  We were “counting our chickens before they hatched” when it came to our weekly budget.  I love Dave Ramsey.  He is smart and gives great advice and practical tools to get you out of debt. I highly recommend his book The Total Money Makeover.  Believe it or not I’ve read that book a few years ago and took the Financial Peace University, so encouraging, but you need to continue to always follow the advice and tools to keep you out of debt and we unfortunately have not.  So back at we will be.  I have used a weekly budget for years but spent beyond that sometimes.  Things are changing and I’ve got my husband on board.  We will be using more cash designated for their purposes only and less swiping of the debit card.  If we don’t have the cash, we don’t get to buy it.
  2. Get and be more prepared on our little homestead. I had been saving up for a pressure canner and was just able to buy it recently so that I am able to can vegetables this summer from our garden. That’s very exciting to me as we try to be more self-sufficient.  I also want to learn more about our land, gardening, fruit trees, and hopefully chickens this year (although that will depend on #1 above – if we have saved enough money to build the coop that I want).  Learning and making what we have around us work seems sensible and cost-effective in the long run.
  3. Be a better person. I think I’m a kind person, pretty easy to get a long with but I know I can improve on being a better person. I want to be a better person in every aspect of my life…to my husband, to my kids, my parents, my siblings, my in-laws, my girlfriends, my co-workers and my God and for my God. I think if we all look into ourselves there’s always something we can do a little bit better.  I’m going to try to not let the nitty-gritty of life stand in my way of being a better person.

If you made a new year’s resolution, good for you.  If you find yourself not able to keep it, just start again.  If you made goals for yourself for the new year, good for you.  If you find yourself failing, just start again.  If you didn’t do a resolution or a goal, it’s never too late.  You don’t have to wait for a new year to aim for that desired result.  You know what they say, “a goal without a plan is just a dream” or is it “every accomplishment begins with the decision to try” or “if you aim at nothing, you will hit it every time”?  I’m going to do whatever I can to make my goals a reality, even if it means I don’t get it all accomplished this year – at least I tried and I’m closer to it than I was last year.  Here’s to a New Year!

From My Little Piece of Homestead,

JodieLMW

2 thoughts on “Goals for the New Year

Leave a Reply

